Image

The Art of the Relationship

I would like everyone to meet my new friend . . .

This friend likes to have coffee with me, keeps me company while having breakfast, accompanies me to the gym, the pool, and the park. And by friend, let’s just say that this book might be the most inspirational text I have ever read. After 6 years of teaching, I would have told you that I knew a great deal about children, their little brains, and could predict just about 80% of their behaviors. Boy, does this book have a thing or two to teach me.

This whole counseling degree has three steps for me.

1. Get my master’s degree as a K-12 School Counselor

2. Go back to school to get my LPC (Licensed Professional Counselor) – remember I like being busy

3. Become a RPT (Registered Play Therapist) at DePelchin – an amazing children’s counseling center in Houston

Quite honestly, I cannot wait one more second to become a play therapist and therefore I started taking some classes last year, picked up this book (and 2 others) to read in the meantime, and actually based my thesis on Play Therapy. The Association of Play Therapy put a video on YouTube explaining play therapy and why/how it works (I really do encourage you to take 7 minutes and watch this video – it’ll have you hooked). The video can explain more about play therapy then my current limited knowledge would be able to do.

I cannot wait to see where this journey will take me, as I begin to understand he inner world of the child through play.

And I’ll leave you with a quote from the book’s author Garry Landreth, “My early interactions with children in play therapy awakened in me a deep appreciation for the unfolding process of life as experienced by children and in turn a new appreciation for the process of my own life, not as something to change, or undo, or overcome, or prove the worth of, but to appreciate and live out the excitement of the process of being the person God has created me to be.”

2 thoughts on “The Art of the Relationship

Leave a Reply

