Image

National Dance Day

Wow! I love the Olympics! The gymnast in me cannot help but revel in the glory of these Olympians and their dreams. Not only the gymnasts, but all of the athletes. I would be lying if I told you that I could make it through all two weeks of the Olympics without shedding a tear while watching someone achieve their dream and listening to our national anthem. I’m also becoming a pro at whistling the Olympic Anthem, although I’m sure if you asked Spencer he would completely disagree with you!

Not only do the men gymnasts begin their qualifier competition today, but today is also National Dance Day! National Dance Day is put on by the Dizzy Feet Foundation (advertised frequently on So You Think You Can Dance). The Dizzy Feet Foundation was established in 2009 by Nigel Lythgoe, Adam Shankman, Carrie Ann Inaba and Katie Holmes, among others, to support, improve, and increase access to dance education in the United States. The foundation’s mission is to sponsor, fund and/or support dance education programs which expose children in underserved areas to the lifelong benefits of dance education through and with local community organizations. Amen . . . if I do say so myself. . .

With that in mind, I am always in awe of Season 7’s Alex and tWitch’s hip hop routine choreographed by NappyTabs.

I would have normally spent my day dancing in Kerry’s hip hop class, but instead, with this beautiful Texas weather, we went to Galveston to fish on the boat. There wasn’t any lack of dancing on that boat either. Sometimes it’s just best to forget who’s watching and dance our little hearts out!

In honor of National Dance Day, here are a few videos of me dancing. The first one is a video of Kay, Kerry, and myself during rehearsal for Kerry’s birthday show last year, and the second video was taped after a Wednesday class with the same 4 of us that performed in the show (Taryn is the fourth missing from the 1st video). I hope you enjoy my dancing, I know I enjoy doing it!

Leave a Reply

