Image

Grass-Fed Buffalo Tacos + Flourless Zucchini Brownies

I know I am supposed to be a Vegan, but I really cannot pass up grass-fed buffalo off of the Rogers’ ranch in Colorado. In fact this meat is SO good for you, I wouldn’t consider it meat at all (perhaps I’m just trying to make myself feel better). Also, we just ordered $200 dollars worth and it is packed into our freezer. So you can judge all you want, I’m going to continue eating my “non-meat” meat.

Anyways, I took one of my all time favorite recipes, added a little grass-fed buffalo and voila, dinner.

I, of course, had to add a little dessert pairing and therefore tried this flourless zucchini brownie recipe I found on Pinterest. I added my own little twist (and one egg) and had myself a batch of semi-healthy brownies.

Can’t wait to eat these rich bites all week long (and hopefully some into the following week, but I can’t promise anything).

Grass-Fed Buffalo Tacos

Adapted from Cooking Light The Essential Dinner Tonight Cookbook

Cooking spray

1 1/2 cups sliced red bell pepper

1 1/2 cups sliced yellow onion

1 pound grass-fed buffalo flat iron steak

1 T chili powder

1 T lime juice

2 1/2 tsp olive oil

3/4 tsp salt

4 garlic cloves, minced

8 corn tortillas

3 T chopped fresh cilantro

  1. Heat pan over medium-high heat; coat with cooking spray. Add bell pepper; cook 4 minutes. Add onion; saute 10 minutes. Place pepper mixture into a large bowl and cover to keep warm.
  2. Add beef to pan; cook 5 minutes. Add beef to the pepper mixture. Add the chili powder, lime juice, oil, salt, and garlic; toss to coat.
  3. Heat tortillas. Spoon beef and pepper mixture into taco; sprinkle with cilantro. Serve with a wedge of lime.

Cilantro Lime Quinoa

1 cup quinoa

1 1/2 cup water

1 tsp garlic salt

Handful of chopped cilantro

1 lime

  1. Combine quinoa, water, and salt into a pan. Cook according to package directions.
  2. Take quinoa off heat. Add cilantro and lime. Stir to combine.
  3. Serve in or next to tacos.

Flourless Zucchini Brownies

Adapted from this blog

3/4 cup almond butter

1/4 cup peanut butter

1 1/2 cup shredded zucchini

1/3 cup honey

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinammon

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 cup semi-sweet 85% Cacao chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Combine all ingredients into a large bowl and stir well.
  3. Pour mixture into a greased 9×9 glass dish.
  4. Bake for 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

I’m pretty sure these squares of delicious, rich chocolate will help get me through this 4 day week.

One thought on “Grass-Fed Buffalo Tacos + Flourless Zucchini Brownies

Leave a Reply

