Image

Hugo’s

Last night, Spence and I wanted some fresh seafood. I had seen a place called Zimm’s Little Deck earlier last week and really wanted to try it (well it is also classified as a wine bar, so you decide why I truly wanted to go after a very long Tuesday).

We head over, only to find out that it has apparently been shut down. Which would be a shame except for one of the reviews claimed there was cat feces on the patio, which I pretty much do not want accompanying my “fresh” seafood.

We ended up at Hugo’s after hearing that it was George Bush’s (not sure which one) favorite Mexican restaurant in Houston.

I would have to go ahead and say that yes this might be the very best Mexican Food I have had. It is in no way Tex-Mex, but in no way that sloppy Mexican food you associate with places that claim they have “authentic” Mexican.

Spencer has this terrible (or courageous) habit of ordering the weirdest, non-traditional items off of any menu. For example, at Branchwater he will order the bone marrow, and on our way to Zimm’s Little Deck all he could talk about were the fried pig ears. I cringe just thinking about these things, but (as I’ve mentioned before) I HATE living with what-ifs. So, what if I truly would have loved fried pig ears? Luckily, I didn’t have to find out.

So, what happened when Spencer saw pan-sauteed grasshoppers on the menu? Well, he ordered them. The waitress told us that at middle schools in Mexico food trucks would park outside during lunch and children would leave to grab some grasshoppers. She told us they eat them like peanuts.


The dish is called Chapulines, which are pan sautéed grasshoppers. Hugo’s served these crunchy grasshoppers with some guacamole, homemade blue corn tortillas, and chipotle tomatillo salsa. So, with the implication (from our waitress) that I would be eating a tortilla filled with peanuts, I supposed I would try it.

To be quite honest, they were good, and if I didn’t have to know I was eating grasshoppers I would have probably eaten two of those mini grasshopper tacos. Except for I was fully aware that I was eating grasshoppers, and therefore I ate one, and proceeded to the Ahi Tuna Ceviche.

Complete with chunks of sushi grade Ahi, avocado, and mangos, I was in heaven. Oh, also, I had an amazing peach and pineapple sangria to sip on. Oh okay, I had 2 peach and pineapple sangrias.

For entrees, I ordered off their vegetarian menu thinking that I would be making the healthiest choice possible, and Spence continued with his craving for seafood and ordered some shrimp.

Spence ordered the Camarones al Mojo de Ajo, which is essentially shrimp sautéed in lime and garlic oil, served with arroz blanco (filled with green peas, parsley, and cilantro) and ensalada de nopales, a salad made from cactus. His decision was completely Vegan and I applauded his Vegan efforts.

I, on the other hand, ordered two enchiladas stuffed with corn, poblano and calabacitas (a squash, zucchini, and onion mix), topped with tomatillo salsa and crema fresco, served with quinoa and arroz blanco. What they don’t tell you on the menu, is that it is also packed with the most delicious amount of cheese imaginable. So did I lose the “healthy dinner option” battle? Yes. Did I lose the “most amazing enchiladas I’ve EVER eaten” battle? HECK NO!

Online, reviewers recommended that you finish your dinner off with some Mexican hot chocolate and a churro. I recommended that I pack up my left overs and get the heck out of there before I needed the doorway bulldozed down to fit my body through.

All in all, get your booty to that restaurant! Otherwise, you are missing out on one heck of dinner. In fact, if I didn’t have class tonight, I would be there sucking down sangria and ordering more enchiladas!

Leave a Reply

