Image

Pumpkin and Banana Smoothie

It’s a little interesting here in Texas. See, all around town there are pumpkins. Carving pumpkins, Reese Peanut Butter Cup shaped pumpkins, pumpkin spiced lattes, pumpkin pie, and pumpkin bread.

The problem is the weather out here does not jive well with the “curl up on the couch with your pumpkin spiced latte” idea. And this dog curled up in a Bumpkin Ball does not help matters.

In fact, what am I to do with such a problem when I – A. want pumpkin SO badly and B. I am on my way to a pool party?

What more could a girl do besides dump all her favorite flavors into a Vitamix and add some ice.

Pumpkin and Banana Smoothie

  • Canned Pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • Light Coconut Milk (I normally find this in the international food aisle)
  • Non-fat Vanilla Creamer
  • Banana
  • Cinnamon
  • Ice

There is no real perfect mixture. In fact, I just kept adding things until the taste was just right for me.

I started with the banana, a couple spoonfuls of pumpkin, and about a cup of coconut milk.

After blending it together, I realized it needed a little sweetener and went directly for my coffee creamer. I added a little bit of that and some cinnamon to the mix. While the Vitamix was running, I dropped ice cube after ice cube in until it had just the right texture for me.

That gave the smoothie the perfect balance of sweet, yet not too sweet, and icy, but not too icy.

I paired it with my snowflake coaster and lunch was served. A girl couldn’t have asked for a better pre-pool lunch.

Leave a Reply

