Image

Singapore, France, South America. Decisions, Decisions.

The topic of conversation lately has been moving over-seas for a year. Surprise, everyone who didn’t know about this before now!

Anyways, here is how the conversation went:
“I think we should do a year over-seas while we don’t have anything tying us down.”

“Sounds good to me. Although, who the H knows what I’m going to do in said other country.”

“Well there will be lots for you to do. Teaching English, maybe counseling.”

“But in like what country? I mean where will I get my hair done, or get a pedicure, will there be a Whole Foods?”

“I don’t know. The head company is in France . . . . ”

The rest of the conversation is a blur. I heard France and booked the next mental ticket to the Eiffel Tower.

It’s all I could think about, all weekend. So, I did a little research. And I’m pretty much going to work at the International School of Paris when I get there. Yes, I realize he said France not Paris, but you know what, don’t rain on my over-seas parade.

So, in light of my new life which consists of attending wine and cheese bars, reading books, and eating croissants, I took Ocean for a walk to celebrate my future.

Here’s the thing, my other choices consisted of Singapore, “somewhere” in South America, South Africa, or somewhere in the east …

Let me ask one more time, but where in the world where I get my hair done?

So, here’s what I decided to do after a very long walk.

I decided to make some Chinese food. Yes, super Americanized, healthy Chinese food, but heck if I’m moving to Singapore I’m making it count!

Sweet and Spicy Buffalo Quinoa Bowl

Buffalo:

  • 1 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp tamari
  • 1 Tbsp agave
  • 2 Tbsp orange juice + pinch of zest
  • 1 tsp Tabasco Garlic and Pepper Sauce
  • Fine black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

Broccoli:

  • 2 cups broccoli florets
  • 1/4 cup veggie broth

Quinoa:

  • 2 cups Quinoa
  • 1/2 cup sweet onion, chopped
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup veggie broth
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup raisins

Directions:

1. First prepare the quinoa. Add the vegetable broth, water, and salt to a large pan. Bring to a boil. Add in the quinoa and onions. Cover. Cook for 10 – 15 minutes depending on the package directions. Add the raisins once quinoa has cooled a bit.

2. For the buffalo, slice into 1/2 in thick slices. Place the steak in the tamari, agave, orange juice and zest, Tabasco, pepper, and garlic powder. Add the oil to a hot skillet. Add the steak (reserve the marinade). Cook the steak approximately 9 minutes. Carefully add in the remaining liquid from the bowl.

3. With the pan still hot – over medium heat – add in the broccoli. Cook with the leftover flavors in the pan for about a minute. Add in the vegetable broth. Cover with a lid. Allow to steam for about 2 minutes. Remove broccoli from heat.

* Add a little sriracha at the end for a kick.

I may not be in Singapore, but this is the life!

2 thoughts on “Singapore, France, South America. Decisions, Decisions.

Leave a Reply

