Image

Procrastination is Truly an Art Form

So let me just tell you this . . . I meant to post this on Friday, yes the last Friday in September, the Friday that I actually got to wear jeans to work, the Friday that I decided to go to spin instead of having a glass of wine, yes THAT Friday.

See what happened was, I was too busy celebrating my work out (which happens frequently) that I quite frankly forgot to post. Well, then came Saturday. I scratched my eyeball (who knows how) and the rest is history.

So you see from now on all my excuses revolve around that scratched eye. Why isn’t your homework done for Tuesday night’s class, you might ask? Well, I scratched my eyeball. Why have you not cooked dinner at home in the past 4 nights? You’ve got it, I scratched my eyeball. Thanks to my scratched eyeball I was easily able to procrastinate on just about everything important I had/needed to get done this weekend.

So really this Second Grade lesson has nothing to do with scratched eyeballs, but it does have a lot to do with the #1 Enemy on my Enemy List, Procrastination. Okay not really. I’ll stop making it about me. Really I was just teaching about friendship and I kind of LOVE this book, so I just want to pretend I’m the main character forever.

Enemy Pie – Thinking about words that help or hurt friendships

Topics Covered: Interpersonal Effectiveness, Respect, Responsibility, Communication Skills

I started the lesson off by writing, “To have good friends, you must be a good friend,” on the board. I asked the boys what they thought it meant. I had answers from “the Golden Rule,” to “you don’t want to make your friends mad,” and even a connection to bucket filling. We then discussed what we thought the opposite of a friend was. Of course there was bully, bad friend, etc. We finally widdled it down to enemy and I introduced my book, Enemy Pie.

Enemy Pie is a really cute story about a little boy who thinks he is going to have the perfect summer until Jeremy Ross moves into town. After that, the little boy places Jeremy on his Enemy List, as Enemy Number One. The boy talks to his dad about the problem and his dad suggests making enemy pie. The ingredients were unknown, except for the secret ingredient – spending an entire day with his enemy. Through the story, the little boy turns his Number One Enemy into his best friend.

After the story we discussed why Jeremy was on the little boy’s enemy list and why dad suggested making the pie. My second graders figured out that it was just a trick so that the boys would become friends.

Next we talked about how Jeremy would have felt if he knew all the things the little boy was saying about him. This led us into our activity, Words that Hurt or Help Friendships. All the boys needed to do was read the scenarios and decide if it was something that would help (fill a bucket) or hurt (dip in a bucket) a friend and sort accordingly.

Words that hurt:help friendship

The boys seemed to really enjoy the activity. I also like that they were able to carry over the bucket filling lesson all by themselves.

As for me, I don’t really want to put procrastination on my enemy list because quite honestly it is WAY too much fun to think up ways to get around doing homework. Oh, like writing for this blog. #1 procrastination strategy, and it would be 100% false if I said I would place this blog on my enemy list.

Oh also, another jack pot. In case you don’t want to buy the book (Enemy Pie), you can read in online at Storyline Online. It is a great website with actors and actresses reading the books aloud. Kind of fun for the boys to hear someone else reading besides me and their teacher.

4 thoughts on “Procrastination is Truly an Art Form

  1. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your weblopg posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing on your feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!

Leave a Reply

