Image

Button Makers and Recipes

I am getting a button maker!

It is all I have been able to think about since yesterday when I decided that I wanted to make buttons for the yearbook staff. My creative was bubbling over with all the buttons I could make and hand out.  People still like buttons right? Oh and by people I mean little boys and middle schoolers on the yearbook staff.

If I could make a button right now, I’d make one for myself saying, “You Joined Boot Camp. Hooray!” or I’d make all my Number 1 listener stars into buttons . . .  100’s of them!

The only problem is I need to find this button maker. Do they sell them at Hobby Lobby? I’ll go on a hunt this week and be rest assured that pictures of the button maker will be posted as soon as I get it!

That brings me to my next thing . . . . 3rd grade . . .

(One doesn’t really lead into the other, but I couldn’t hold in my button making excitement any longer)

What’s the Recipe for Friends?

Topics Covered: Respect, Communication Skills, Interpersonal Effectiveness, Responsible Behavior

(Just as I have started all my lessons, we  began by talking about how to look SMART in the classroom.)

“What’s a recipe? What would we need to make chocolate chip cookies? What if I added a pickle?”

Recipes have 2 important parts: ingredients and directions.

The ingredients are carefully picked to make the recipe taste delicious. The directions are followed so that the recipe turns out just right.

If we add a pickle, we spoil our recipe.

This intro helped to step up the book and the following activity.

The book I chose for this lesson was “What’s the Recipe for Friends?” by Greg Williamson. The book follows the same idea as Enemy Pie, making it a good follow up book. This book is taken from the perspective of the new boy to the town and how he has to have all the right ingredients to make friends.

After the story, we not only discussed the appropriate “ingredients” for friends, but we also talked about courage. The boy in the story had the courage to go to school every day and try “mixing his ingredients” for friends. Even when he came home without one single friend, he still tried and tried until finally his recipe worked.

To sum up some of the points from the story, I drew a bowl on the board. Inside the bowl we placed all the ingredients we would want in a friend and outside the bowl is everything we would leave out because it would spoil the friendship.

I passed out the “My Friendship Recipe” Activity.

First, I wanted the boys to copy the bowl on the back. Why? Well, 1. I wanted the ideas to be fresh in their minds (in case they spaced out) and 2. I wanted them to be able to add in extra ideas in case they weren’t able (or too afraid) to share.

Once the ingredients were written, the boys filled out the front side of their sheet.

I was pleased to see many of them include ideas from the story into their own recipe, but it was also nice to see the unique things they do for each other that we, as teachers, don’t always get the chance to see or hear.

Leave a Reply

