Image

Smashed Red Potatoes

If you didn’t know any better you’d have thought this was some sort of cooking blog, by the way I keep posting all of these recipes. But quite frankly, I can’t help myself. I have been cooking vegetables like they are going out of style.

And on such a chilly (57°) night in Houston, what better treat than baked potatoes?

I have been seeing these potatoes all over Pinterest. It wasn’t until I was desperate for potatoes that I realized they were none other than the Pioneer Woman’s recipe. So really I cannot take one ounce of credit for this recipe. But the reason I want to share it is because I often pin recipes on Pinterest never truly intending to make them (you will find out why later), just curbing my appetite around snack time with pictures. But, with a bag of red potatoes and a hankering for something baked, I turned to my trusty Pinterest.

See here is my problem with recipes from Pinterest. . . who’s to know if they are any good? I mean I consider myself quite the food connoisseur, but one posting of some sort of crock pot recipe and you’ve lost all Pinterest- recipe credibility. Like I said, until I was desperate for potatoes!

The great news/surprise was this recipe was based (and I mean based because I can’t follow directions to save my life . . . good thing I was a teacher) on the Pioneer Woman, and besides WAY too much butter and oil, you really can’t go wrong. So, mainly I’m writing up this recipe because it is PHENOM (in laymen’s terms: phenomenal). Take my word for it, I promise, they are delicious. And I know so because I cross my heart to never repin a crock pot recipe, EVER!

Smashed Red Potatoes

  • 16 whole red potatoes
  • 3 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • Salt + Pepper to taste
  • Italian Seasoning to taste

  1. Preheat oven to 450°/
  2. Add red potatoes to a pot of salted water and bring to a boil. Do not boil the water beforehand or the outside of the potato will be mushy while the inside is barely done.
  3. Cook potatoes until easily pierced with a fork.
  4. Spray cookie sheet with PAM.
  5. Place potatoes on the cookie sheet leaving plenty of room between each potato.
  6. With a potato masher (or a meat mallet . . . like I said my direction following is mediocre), gently press down each potato until it slightly mashes.
  7. Brush the tops of each crushed potato with more olive oil.
  8. Sprinkle potatoes kosher salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning mix.
  9. Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown.

Don’t take it from me. . . take it from Spencer who went back for thirds!

4 thoughts on “Smashed Red Potatoes

Leave a Reply

