Image

Feelings Book

I got this idea from a worksheet I saw and pinned from Pinterest. The book was originally meant to be a writing prompt book published by Scholastic. I figured now that the 2nd graders could write without being too overly concerned with spelling things correctly (although I can’t blame them), I would give this book a chance.

photo

I mean I’m pretty sure Scholastic meant to publish this in their nonexistent school counselor magazine, not their teacher’s so I took the liberty of using it in my guidance lesson.

My Book About Feelings

Topics Covered: Caring, Responsible Behavior, Self-Confidence Development

This is another one of my easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy lessons (and yes I have been hanging out with Kindergarteners for far too long, but Spencer would never let me repeat that phrase at home and you are a captive audience so I figured I’d use it with you instead).

6

Either way, here are the 3 steps:

1. Acquire the book Today I Feel Silly and Other Moods That Make My Day by Jamie Lee Curtis.

photo[1]

Be aware that it does contain the word diarrhea, so if you aren’t up for some laughing I’d find a new book. I, on the other hand, teach all boys. They think it’s hilarious, and I find it hilarious watching them crack up over this kind of stuff. So, I wasn’t afraid.

5

Oh, and once you have found the book, read the book to your students. Talk to them about how the little girl had a reason for feeling each different way.

1

2. Explain the Book of Feelings. On each page they are to tell about a time that they felt happy, sad, scared, etc. Here’s the PDF version: Mini Book of Feelings

4

3. (And always my favorite of all) Color the book until everyone is finished writing their stories.

3

And remember, simple doesn’t mean it’s any less valuable of a lesson. Just look at all the precious/meaningful things I got 2nd grade boys to write about.

2

Oh and check out this precious conversation I had with Kindergarteners today!

Kindergarten conversation:

Student 1: Miss L are you married?
Me: Nope.
Student 1: WHAT? You aren’t? That’s crazy. You should probably find a husband. I don’t like that.
Me: Oh okay, I’ll work on finding one.
Student 1: Well how old are you?
Me: 28.
Student 1: I knew it! You should probably wait until you are 30, then you can find a husband.
Student 2: And then you can wear matching clothes!

Leave a Reply

