Image

Organizing . . . My Computer!

I decided to start off my 2013-2014 school year by organizing my thumb drive! To anyone who knows me, this should not come as a surprise. Except, I quickly figured out I was not made for computer work!

Last year, in my attempt to make it through my first year as a counselor, I was not overly conscious of how I was organizing all of my counseling documents, lessons, activities, forms, data, accommodations,etc . . . BUT, especially my lessons!

So this year, I decided to go back through my thumb drive and start organizing all of my lessons, activities, etc.

It went something like this . . .

6I opened my drive to look for my “Meet the Counselor” lesson from last year. That’s when I realized I had so nicely dropped all lessons and activities in a file named “Beginning Counseling,” thoughtfully made at the beginning of last year with no procedure for what happened when I needed to locate a specific file.

After typing in the search box every single word I could think that might contain the document I needed, I promptly gave up and decided . . . first things first, let’s organize!

Step #1: I made an appropriately titled folder . . . “Character Education Lessons,” with each grade level inside.

5Step #2: Organize my lessons by the months I will teaching.

4Step #3: Using my scope and sequence from last year, I added folders into each month describing my desired counseling and character skills.

Full Year Scope and Sequence:

1

Scope and Sequence made into folders:

3Step #4: Painstakingly go back through ALL of my files and file them into their appropriate skill folders, for each grade and for each month.

2The good news? I’m organized!!!!

The bad news? Where is that Mr. Potato Head file?!? Oh, well . . . let go and let God, looks like I’ll be getting creative today  . . . maybe a Meet the Counselor Pool Bag . . .

I guess you’ll find out what I decided to use tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

