My World of Colorful Feelings

My World of Colorful Feelings

More change happened for me yesterday . . . not a major change, unless you considering buying a new book major change.

I bought, Puzzle Pieces: Classroom Guidance Collection, a collection of character education lessons for K-5. I was looking to add some extra lessons into my 2nd grade repertoire before I began with my Connecting With Others lessons (my modified lessons from this book can be found here, here, here, and here). I figured before we start focusing on personal space, empathy, and caring, we should probably begin talking about different feelings and things that make us feel different ways. Puzzle Pieces has a great (well the verdict is still out . . . I’ve only done one lesson, which was great) unit on feelings.

Colorful Feelings

Topics Covered: Communication Skills
Character Skill: Respect

onstructionpaperI began the lesson, by showing the boys different colors of the rainbow. For each color, I asked them to tell me something of which each color reminds them. Some boys related the color to things in the their house or classroom that was the same color, some related it to colors of nature, and very few related it to a feeling.

Next, I read them My Many Colored Days by Dr. Seuss. We talked about feelings that make us feel good and bad for each of the colors.

9780679875970_p0_v1_s260x420Following the story, I laid the colored construction paper around the room. I named a color and the boys walked to that color. While they were there, I had them notice how many different colors reminded us all of the same emotion. After we identified each emotion/color, we came back to the carpet to discuss how we have many different feelings inside of us each day.

I showed the boys a bag a Skittles. I asked them if the bag of Skittles had one color in it or many colors. Obviously many, unless you got a rigged bag of Skittles. I told them that they were like a bag of Skittles with many different colors and feelings inside them.

6302723846_71014a979f_zSome things, like playing with your friends would make you feel happy, but then 10 minutes later you might fall down and get hurt, so you would feel sad. Then, inside of school you might get excited to read a new book, but get nervous to do Rocket Math (a similar version of Minute Math). We talked about how we have many different feelings each day, and THAT’S OKAY!

To finish the lesson, we colored in our own rainbow. For each color, we labeled it with a feeling. At this point they knew that each rainbow would look a little different.

Screen Shot 2014-08-26 at 3.59.31 PM Screen Shot 2014-08-26 at 3.59.44 PM Screen Shot 2014-08-26 at 3.59.59 PM

Leave a Reply

