Let the Music Move You

Let the Music Move You

Music Therapy is one branch of counseling used all around the world. In fact, there is an entire website dedicated to music therapy. The website states:

Music therapy interventions can be designed to:

  • Promote Wellness
  • Manage Stress
  • Alleviate Pain
  • Express Feelings
  • Enhance Memory
  • Improve Communication
  • Promote Physical Rehabilitation

If you haven’t noticed by now, I am an artist at heart. If I could make the same money drawing, painting, composing music, and acting, trust me I would. Thanks mom and dad for forcing me to play the oboe until my Junior year in high school and thank you for taking me to countless art lessons throughout my childhood.

So, it is no surprise that as I open my Puzzle Pieces book, I am drawn straight to the lesson titled “Musical Feelings.” I hate to say, but I was slightly disappointed. The specific lesson asks you to pass around musical instruments and have the students play them in loud and soft tones all while having them say what feeling it reminded them of. I knew there had to be a way to take the same concept (and not give an entire class of little boys musical instruments) and make it a little more . . . how should I say this . . . generalizable to the real world. Using the word generalizable makes me feel like I’m in my research class again.

Anyways, I took the concept laid out in Puzzle Pieces and extended it to real world application. As we speak, I’m listening to music to ease my stress and busy schedule. I think it is something we can all relate to.

Musical Feelings

Topics Covered: Communication Skills
Character Skill: Fairness

I began the lesson by reminding my 2nd grade boys about Emotional Eugene (one of our Jellybean Jamboree characters that they learned about in Kindergarten). When they met Eugene in Kindergarten, they learned that we have actual feeling words and that good, bad, and fine aren’t actually feelings, they are just the way certain emotions make us feel.

To practice recognizing feeling words, I read Today I Feel Silly by Jamie Lee Curtis (one of my absolute favorites). I asked the boys to raise their hand when they heard the feeling word on the page. This book makes it easy to identify some feeling words, but on other pages it makes it a little more difficult.

photo 2On this page, it states, “My mood is bad. I feel grumpy and mean.” This is a great page to illustrate that feeling grumpy makes you feel mean and bad, but that bad is not a feeling.

The other page that helps illustrate this is . . .

photo 1

Here she states that her mood is great. If the boys have been listening, none raised their hand on this page because great is not a feeling word. So I asked them to tell me what feeling would make them feel great.

After we read the story, I showed the boys pictures of faces and asked them to use their “Feelings Word Bank” to tell me how the person felt.

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 9.56.37 AM

Then, we identified what clues on the faces helped them know how that person was feeling.

photoNext, I showed them pictures of different musical instruments. We recognized whether they made loud or soft sounds and placed a feeling with each instrument.

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 9.56.30 AM Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 9.56.24 AM

To end the lesson, I had the boys listen to 4 one-minute snippets of music. On the activity page (Musical Feelings Activity Page), they had to write down the feel they associated with the song and why. Before starting, we talked about how each song will bring about a different feeling in each person and that was okay.

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 9.56.01 AMHere are the songs I used and possible feelings they might elicit: happy, sad, mad, sleepy.

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 10.36.33 AM

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 10.36.23 AM

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 10.36.12 AM

Take a moment in your day to think about all the different kinds of music you listen to. What does this say about you? Your mood? Your feelings?

I, for example, jam out to 80s music every morning in the car . . . what in the world does that say about me?

Leave a Reply

