Home Run

Home Run

In advisory this month, just like in our lower school classes, we are focusing on fairness. It seemed that last week’s discussion the boys had a fairly cut and dry explanation about what constituted as fair and what did not. To add a little spice in their life, if you will, we gave them a situation in which they had to use a moral decision and still classify it as being fair or not.

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 11.05.38 AM

The lesson came from a California school district’s website. The lesson focused on an event that took place during a Western Oregon vs. Central Washington softball game. It encouraged reflection on the importance of being fair even when it’s not easy.

Home Run

Character Skill: Fairness

The lesson on the website came with a step-by-step lesson plan, as well as a power point.

Instead of rewriting the whole lesson for you, I have included the lesson plan (Home Run Lesson Plan) and power point (Home Run) here, as well as some student reflection examples and a couple hints.

Hint #1: When using this with my silly 6th graders, I found it easier to structure their responses than tell them to “reflect” or “quickwrite.” It seems when I say things like that the first answer I get after about 10 seconds of writing is, “I’m done!” To which I have to say, “Did you even write a complete sentences?” “Oh, we have to write in complete sentences?” “Well, as a 6th grader I sure hope so.” So hint one . . .  structure the writing reflections a bit more, especially if you have a school full of boys.

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 11.00.51 AMHint #2: Truly, truly, review pair-share instructions. Because even though they seem to know how to pair-share in a core class, they don’t seem to remember the rules in advisory.

Hint #3: Do not show the Liberty Mutual video reenactment of the game . . . instead use this real clip of the game. The boys spent too much time laughing at the girls’ acting and spent half as much time actually thinking about the objective . . . which brings me to my last hint . . .

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 11.01.12 AM

(You know me I love the brutally honest ones.)

Hint #4: I found it extremely helpful (shamefully  . . . I found it surprisingly helpful) to state the objective so that they had a reason and meaning to watching the video. Even through the extensive snickering about the acting, I was still able to get good reflections out of them after watching.

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 11.00.59 AM

2 thoughts on “Home Run

    1. Barbara, I was surprised at how powerful it was . . . especially for a room full of boys. We even googled the real footage of the game so they could see it.

Leave a Reply

