The Power of Red

The Power of Red

Part 3 . . .

I promised you a changed life by Wednesday . . . well my busy work life took over and now you might consider me some what of a liar . . . oh well, I have my shield up . . . don’t know what that means? Lucky for you I’ll tell you all about my shield.

Turn-Arounds and Seeing Red

To end our Friday session, Jennifer (have you still not read anything of hers? Check it out here, here, here, or here) talked to us a little bit more about our way to mute out the words no, not, never, etc. She said when clients come to her she’ll ask them what they are looking to change. Things like … I don’t want to be stress anymore (remember what your brain hears when you say these things?), I can’t be nervous during work presentations, I don’t want to be tense all the time, I am sick of feeling upset. Jennifer recommends that we take these negative words like nervous, stressed, tense, upset, overwhelmed and turn them around to positive outcomes. Instead of NOT feeling these things, what do we want instead? What could we replace these feelings with?

Nervous  Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 9.33.52 AM Calm

Stressed Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 9.33.52 AM Organized

Tense Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 9.33.52 AM Relaxed

Upset Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 9.33.52 AM Soothed

Overwhelmed Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 9.33.52 AM In control

Practice this type of thinking often. Think to yourself when you feel a sense of negativity coming on, “What do I want?” I want to be relaxed and calm during my presentation. I want to be more organized so that all my work can get done in a timely manner. I want to take time to relax tonight with friends and family.

Now all of the sudden these things we didn’t want in our lives, have been turned around to become the positive, powerful suggestions we should be giving ourselves each morning and night. This morning mine was, “You are strong and confident.” I suppose I’ve been needing a lot of reinforcement for my lack of gym time lately …

Turn-arounds are a great way to manipulate your own negative thoughts. But what happens when other people’s negativity comes knocking on your door? It is harder to control their negative thoughts and comments, but how do we keep from catching all their rotten tomatoes?

Seeing Red

To end our session, Jennifer “hypnotized” us. During this time, she began by relaxing us. Once we were relaxed, she placed a shield around us. This shield allowed positive thoughts and comments to come through, it allowed the exchange of ideas and knowledge, it allowed people to get close to us, but it deflected negative thoughts and comments from coming our way.

This was a powerful shield because it protected us from feeling obligated to catch everyone’s rotten tomatoes and do something with them. With our shield up, we could help change those negatives into positives or we could just let them bounce off us and land right back into the hands of the person who was throwing them at us. I even use my shield as a reminder to deflect or get rid of my own negative thoughts.

To help us remember and reinforce our shield, to help us remember to constantly and consistently give ourselves powerful suggestions, Jennifer had us “hypnotized” to look for the red in life. Each time we would see red around us we would be reminded of our strong shield and our powerful suggestions. Just as the session was ending, smiles came across our tired faces and we left feeling surprisingly rejuvenated. As we exited the room, we reached a wall of windows that looked over the Dallas skyline, and there in the distance was the most vibrant red sunset I’ve ever seen. It was a sheer sign that Jennifer, the world, our sub-conscious, God, whoever, wanted us to start seeing the positives. Right then and there I truly felt my life changing. I’m telling you, it wasn’t just me who felt it. People were literally walking around yelling and hollering about that red sunset. I’m laughing just thinking about it.

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 10.25.35 AM

This picture doesn’t even do it justice.

As I drove home the next day and throughout the next 6 days, I haven’t even needed to search for my red. It just appears, right when I need it, right when I’m feeling down or discouraged, out pops my red to remind me of my shield and my suggestions. Complaint e-mails, complaining phone calls are no match for my red. It’s like I have an inside joke with the world. Right when someone thinks they can get me in a tizz with their negative thinking, the world throws me some red and I almost have to hold back my smile of gratitude.

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 10.25.25 AM

Some of yesterday’s red.

I don’t think you need to be “hypnotized” for this thinking to work. Just convince yourself to change. Give yourself hope in the power of red. Put up your shield and practice your suggestions. Watch as the red comes in and out of your life right when you need it. Watch yourself almost forget about your shield, watch as you almost curse at the red tail lights in front of you as you sit in traffic, and then you laugh because the world just showed you the red you needed and reminded you of all the positives, of all the suggestions, of all the potential. Watch as this thinking changes your every day outlook, your every day thinking. Watch as it literally changes you every single day.

Screen Shot 2014-11-20 at 10.25.12 AM

Some of today’s red.

I feel like a better, happier, more fulfilled person. I don’t know where to place my gratitude. To Jennifer, to hypnosis, to the world, to the red? Who ever it goes to, I thank you. My life is changed.

Leave a Reply

