Summertime Cilantro Quinoa

Summertime Cilantro Quinoa

There is nothing that puts me more in the mood for cooking than a beautiful day. Sunny skies, perfect temperatures, and a lazy Sunday all remind me that summer is right around the corner. I feel happier and more energetic. I got more done today than I ever could get done on these rainy, dreary work weeks in Houston.

IMG_5660

On such a night gorgeous night, we decided to grill out and make our go-to summer favorite, Cilantro Quinoa. This is one of our favorites for many reasons . . . it’s fast, it’s easy, it’s delicious, it’s the perfect side dish for just about ANYTHING!

I use quinoa because it’s my favorite, but you could use white or brown rice, black rice (another new favorite of mine),even basmati or jasmine rice. Really I would use which ever you have in your pantry. Remember it’s supposed to be easy.

Summertime Cilantro Quinoa

Idea first came from Cooking Light “The Essential Dinner Cookbook,” but it’s evolved over time to suit my specific tastes.

FullSizeRender

1 Tb olive oil

1/3 cup chopped shallot

2 minced (I personally use our garlic rocker) cloves of garlic

1 cup quinoa (or grain of your choice)

2 cups vegetable broth (or any other broth you may have)

1/2 tsp salt

2 Tb chopped cilantro

Heat oil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add your chopped shallot and garlic. Saute for about 2 minutes or until browned. Add quinoa to the mix and saute for another minute. Add broth and stir until boiling. Reduce heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes. Take off heat and add cilantro. Voila!

FullSizeRender(1)

Any one else out there with super simple summer side-dishes? Was that a quadruple “s” situation back there?!? Sure was! Either way,  I’d love some more to try out!

FullSizeRender(2)

2 thoughts on “Summertime Cilantro Quinoa

Leave a comment