Image

Roasted Vegetable Pasta

It’s official. I love this recipe. Why? Well because I’ve made it twice and liked it both times. Like + Like = Love (in my book).

The first time I made it I took it over to Scott and Stephanie’s house for a little dinner and visit with their new darling addition, Addison. I remembered really being surprised with how well it all turned out. So, I decided to see if it was a fluke or if it really was that good.

Round 2:

The very first thing I do when I start dinner is light all the candles in the house. I don’t know why, I just do. My mom always told me that candles made the house cozier, and I still believe it. Okay, I’ll tell the truth, they remind me of a fireplace, a mini fireplace, but a fireplace non-the-less, and even in the summertime I like to think I’m cooking next to a wood burning stove.

The second step is to crank up some Dave Matthew’s and cut myself a peach. I also don’t know what it is with me eating fruit while cooking but this also happens frequently (and I won’t try to blame my mom for this one).

I had great company in the kitchen.

Mainly, I got him to give me company because had his favorite treats on the counter.

And on a side note, look at these dog treat ingredients . . .

Don’t you seriously want to try one of these treats? I know I do.

He also knows a great trick called, “All dogs out of the kitchen,” where he places just one paw inside the kitchen and lays the rest of his body outside of the kitchen in an attempt to still be part of the action. I’d say it’s a pretty savvy trick.

Ocean and I agreed that this recipe was definitely worth keeping around (and definitely worth sharing).

Roasted Vegetable Pasta – adapted from Cooking Light Fresh Food Fast

  • 3 cups (8 ounces) uncooked Ancient Harvest Quinoa Pasta Shells
  • 2 cups Roasted Vegetables
  • 1 (8 ounces) package sliced baby portobello mushrooms
  • 2 cups cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 large yellow onion, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1 cup frozen green peas, thawed
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley

1. Preheat oven to 475°.

2. Combine first 6 ingredients under Roasted Vegetables in a bowl; toss well to coat. Arrange mixture in a single layer in a glass baking dish.

3. Bake at 475° for 15 minutes; turn vegetables over. Drizzle wine evenly over vegetables; bake an additional 7 minutes or until vegetables are tender.

4. Meanwhile, cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and keep warm.

5. Combine pasta, Roasted Vegetables, and peas in a large bowl. Top with parsley (and for non-vegans you could add some shaved Parmesan cheese).

Calories: 338; Fat: 6g; Protein: 18.3g; Carb: 54.9g; Fiber: 5.5g Chol: 5mg; Iron: 3mg; Sodium: 485mg

Leave a comment